Calling All Shopaholics!

Trying to stay on top of the latest fashions and always having a sense of want and need can clearly be seen in author Sophie Kinsella’s books “Confessions of a Shopaholic”.  It follows the main character, Rebecca Bloomberg, as she tries to navigate her way through life while constantly feeling the need to purchase all the latest fashions while racking up a huge credit bill.  This goes to show how far many people are willing to go to achieve a certain look or status in our consumer culture society today and how the fashion business is able to promote the clothing to achieve maximum profit from the consumers.

3 thoughts on “Calling All Shopaholics!

  1. soci3710a says:

    I did not read the book but I watched the movie. It is an entertaining movie. I noticed how the main character’s addiction to shopping was ruining her social life, love life as well as her job. It was a constant struggle to her to control her urges and still be happy with not being able to purchase every nice item that she saw. Luckily, she realized in the end that this was affecting her life and she took control of it. This movie shows that we as consumers have the tendency to purchase items without really thinking as to whether or not we really need it or if we are going to use products more then once.
    -Amandeep G

  2. Diana C says:

    I read the book and thought it was an accurate reality for “shopaholics”. The problem that I found with the book, (more so with the movie), was that mass consumption was glamorized and seen as one of the most uplifting and positive hobbies for a person to have. Although I found this problematic because shopping should not dictate one’s ultimate happiness, it is unfortunately a true reality for consumers. Also, the film and novel showcased how the main character struggled to make changes in her shopping addiction, I think that the film and novel conveyed an important message. The message is that, someone like the main character (who felt a sense of euphoria when overconsuming), has a problem. The problem of mass consumption should not be downsized; therefore, the individual should aim at dealing with it.
    -Diana C

  3. soci3710a says:

    I have never read this book and until today I had never seen the movie. I am not sure why I never watched it before because I found that I can completely relate to this movie. I do not shop to the extent that this character did, however I do shop quite a bit. I do often ask myself, like the main character in this movie was instructed to do, if I really do NEED the item I am considering buying. It can be an effective way to curb your consumption but I tend to find ways to justify my NEED/DESIRE for something. Often, this need and desire feel interchangeable, just as Rebecca “needed” that green scarf. The most motivating thing that came from this movie, I found, was the line near the beginning of the movie when Rebecca is told that “Cost and worth are very different things”. I never really contemplated this, even through the readings and discussions in this class, until the male character said this in the movie. What do you think about the different representations of cost and worth that play a part in the fashion consumer culture? Is it possible to have cost and worth be equal and representative of each other?

    Nicole Shaver

Leave a Reply

